Our Leaders – Past & Present

Jerry John Rawlings (President 1992-2000)Jerry John Rawlings was born on June 22, 1947 in Adabraka, Accra. His father, James Ramsey John from Scotland, worked as a chemist in the then Gold Coast, and his mother Ms Victoria Agbotui from Dzelukope in the Volta Region was the head of the catering department at the State House in Accra. A product of Achimota School in Accra, Rawlings first emerged in the political scene of Ghana in 1979 when he led a military coup detat, was captured, tried and re-emerged as the victor and head of state of Ghana in 1979.Following a second coup in December 1981, Rawlings deposed President Hilla Limann and ruled Ghana under the Provisional National Defence Council (PNDC) until democracy was established in 1993.At the age of forty-five, Jerry John Rawlings was sworn into office on January 7 1993. He is the first President of the Fourth Republic of Ghana, and the fourth Constitutional President of Ghana. Under Jerry Rawlings Ghanaians re-discovered their value, self- worth and importance in themselves and in the world. Under his leadership a number of key structures and interventionist programmes and policies were put in place, some of which have been the corner-stone of modern day Ghana’s economic, social and democratic march forward as a nation.leader2
John Atta Mills (President 2009-2012 – Died in office)

John Evans Fiifi Atta Mills (21 July 1944 – 24 July 2012) was a Ghanaian politician, a lawyer, a legal scholar, a tax expert and a sports administrator who served as President of Ghana from 2009 until his death in 2012. He was inaugurated on 7 January 2009, having defeated the ruling party candidate Nana Akufo-Addo in the 2008 election.[2] He was vice-president from 1997 to 2001 under President Jerry Rawlings, and stood unsuccessfully in the 2000 and 2004 presidential elections as the candidate of the National Democratic Congress (NDC). He is the first Ghanaian Head of State to die in office.

John Dramani Mahama (2012 – Present)President of The Republic of Ghana.

Mahama was born on November 29, 1958 in Damongo in the Damango-Daboya constituency of Northern region into a political tradition. Mahama had his early education at Achimota School and then proceeded to Ghana Secondary School (Tamale, Northern region) and the University of Ghana, Legon, receiving a bachelor’s degree in history in 1981 and a postgraduate diploma in communication studies in 1986. As a student, he was a member of Commonwealth Hall (Legon). He also studied at the Institute of Social Sciences, Moscow in the then Soviet Union, specializing in social psychology, obtaining a postgraduate degree in 1988. Mahama served as the Vice President of Ghana from 2009 to 2012, and took office as President on 24 July 2012 following the death of his predecessor, John Atta Mills. He was elected to serve his first term as President in the December 2012 election. A communication expert, historian, and writer, Mahama was a Member of Parliament from 1997 to 2009 and Minister of Communications from 1998 to 2001.

leader4Amissah Arthur – Vice President (2012-Present)

Born at Cape Coast in 1951, Kwesi Bekoe Amissah-Arthur was educated at Mfantspim School and later obtained his Bachelors and Masters from the University of Ghana in 1974 and 1976, both in Economics.

Amissah-Arthur worked for a number of private firms, including consultancy work for the World Bank in the Gambia. Serving as a Specialist Assistant to the PNDC Secretary for Finance and Economic Planning, Dr Kwesi Botchwey, between 1983 and 1986, he also became the Deputy Secretary for Finance between 1986 and 1993, under Jerry Rawlings’ PNDC regime.

Amissah-Arthur was appointed as the Governor of the Bank of Ghana in October 2009 by late president John Atta-Mills. He held this post until he was nominated Vice-President to John Dramani Mahama, a post he has held to date.

National Executives

Kofi Portuphy – Chairman

Ebenezer Kof Ofori Portuphy is a founding member of the NDC. Until he was elected Chairman of the NDC in December 2014, Mr Portuphy was the first national co-ordinator of the National Disaster Management Oorganization (NADMO).

Asiedu Nketiah – General Secretary

Born in Seikwa, Brong Ahafo region in 1956, Johnson Asiedu Nketiah qualified as a trained teacher in 1978. As a community leader and organizer, he was instrumental in a number of community programmes in his hometown of Seikwa.

With a business degree from University of Ghana Business School (formerly School of Administration) in 1986, Asiedu Nketiah, popularly known as “General Mosquito” because of his tenacity and small frame, was part of the Consultative Assembly that drafted the 1992 Constitution. A true Community leader, Asiedu Nketiah served as Member of Parliament for 12 years. He also served as Deputy Minister for Food and Agriculture (1997-2001), under the Jerry Rawlings administration.

He won the election as General Secretary of the NDC in December 2005 and has since retained the position, winning re-election in December 2014. A tough-talking, fire-power of the NDC who is not afraid to confront controversies, Johnson Asiedu Nketiah or General Mosquito, is one of the most recognisable faces in Ghanaian politics today.

National Vice Chairpersons
Samuel Ofosu Ampofo
Betty Mould Iddrisu
Harry Zakour
Anita Desooso
Lee Ocran
Alhaji Sinare

Deputy General Secretary
Koku Anyidoho
George Lawson

National Organizer
Kofi Adams

Deputy National Organizer
Mahdi (Pink Sheet Man)
Joshua Akamba

National Communications Officer
Solomon Nkansah

Deputy National Communications Office
Kweku Boahen
Fred Agbenyo

National Treasurer
Abdulia (Alhaji PMC)

Deputy National Treasurer
Vida Addae

National Executive Members
Daniel Amartey Mensah
Victoria Kuma Mintah
Alhaji Sulemana
Babalanmie Abu Sadat